MArch admission in NIT

To take admission in the Master of Architecture (MArch) program at the National Institutes of Technology (NITs) in India, you generally need to follow these steps:

  1. Eligibility: Ensure that you meet the eligibility criteria set by the respective NIT you wish to apply to. The specific requirements may vary slightly among different NITs, so it’s important to check their official websites or admission brochures for precise details. Typically, you need a bachelor’s degree in Architecture or a related field with a minimum percentage or CGPA requirement.
  2. Entrance Exam: Most NITs conduct a common entrance examination called the National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) or the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) for admission to their MArch programs. NATA is specifically for Architecture, while GATE is a common entrance exam for various engineering disciplines, including Architecture and Planning. Check the specific exam required by the NIT you wish to apply to.
  3. Register for the Entrance Exam: Visit the official website of NATA ( or GATE ( and register for the respective exam within the specified timeframe. Pay the required application fee and complete the registration process as instructed.
  4. Prepare for the Exam: Depending on the exam (NATA or GATE), prepare for it by referring to the recommended study materials, practicing sample papers, and focusing on the relevant subjects and topics. Familiarize yourself with the exam pattern, syllabus, and marking scheme.
  5. Take the Entrance Exam: On the scheduled date, appear for the NATA or GATE exam at the designated exam center. Follow the instructions provided and complete the exam within the given time frame. The exams may consist of multiple-choice questions, drawing tests, and/or analytical and technical questions.
  6. Check the Results: After the exam, wait for the results to be declared. The results are usually announced on the official websites of NATA or GATE. If you meet the required cutoff and qualify for the MArch program, proceed to the next step.
  7. Apply to NITs: Visit the official website of the NITs offering MArch programs and follow their application process. Fill out the application form, provide the necessary documents, and pay the application fee within the specified deadlines.
  8. Attend Counseling/Interview: Some NITs may conduct a counseling session or interview as part of the selection process. If required, attend the counseling or interview as scheduled by the respective NIT. Prepare yourself by reviewing your academic achievements, portfolio (if required), and relevant aspects of your application.
  9. Await Admission Offer: After the selection process is complete, the NITs will release the list of candidates who have been offered admission. If you receive an admission offer, follow the instructions provided to confirm your acceptance and complete the necessary admission formalities.

It’s important to note that the exact admission process and requirements may vary among different NITs, so it’s crucial to refer to the official websites or admission brochures of the specific NITs you are interested in for the most accurate and up-to-date information.

Rank to get into MArch admission in NIT ?

The rank required to get admission into the Master of Architecture (MArch) program at the National Institutes of Technology (NITs) can vary from year to year and among different NITs. The rank is primarily determined by the performance in the National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) or the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE), depending on the exam conducted by the respective NIT.

The NATA or GATE exams do not provide a specific rank. Instead, they provide a scorecard that reflects the performance of candidates across various sections of the exam. The NITs then set their own cutoff scores based on factors such as the number of available seats, the performance of candidates, and the specific requirements of the MArch program.

The cutoff score or rank can differ each year based on these factors. To determine the rank required for admission, it’s important to refer to the official websites or admission brochures of the NITs offering the MArch program. These sources will provide detailed information about the previous year’s cutoff ranks or scores for MArch admissions. However, please note that these cutoffs are subject to change and may vary between NITs.

In addition to the NATA or GATE score, some NITs may consider other factors such as academic qualifications, work experience, and/or interviews as part of the selection process. These factors can influence the final selection, and the rank alone may not be the sole criterion for admission.

Therefore, it’s advisable to regularly check the official websites of the NITs and stay updated with their admission notifications and guidelines to get accurate and up-to-date information about the rank required for MArch admissions.

How many NIT has MArch course in India ?

As of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, several National Institutes of Technology (NITs) in India offer the Master of Architecture (MArch) program. However, it’s important to note that the availability of MArch programs may change over time, and new programs may be introduced while others may be discontinued. It’s best to refer to the official websites or admission brochures of the NITs for the most up-to-date information. Here are some of the NITs that have offered MArch programs:

  1. NIT Trichy (National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli)
  2. NIT Calicut (National Institute of Technology, Calicut)
  3. NIT Hamirpur (National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur)
  4. NIT Jaipur (National Institute of Technology, Jaipur)
  5. NIT Patna (National Institute of Technology, Patna)
  6. NIT Rourkela (National Institute of Technology, Rourkela)
  7. NIT Bhopal (National Institute of Technology, Bhopal)
  8. NIT Kurukshetra (National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra)
  9. NIT Silchar (National Institute of Technology, Silchar)
  10. NIT Raipur (National Institute of Technology, Raipur)
  11. NIT Agartala (National Institute of Technology, Agartala)
  12. NIT Jalandhar (National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar)
  13. NIT Srinagar (National Institute of Technology, Srinagar)
  14. NIT Manipur (National Institute of Technology, Manipur)

Please note that this list may not be exhaustive, and it’s essential to verify the current availability of the MArch program at each NIT through official sources. Additionally, it’s advisable to check the specific NITs’ official websites or admission brochures for detailed information on the MArch programs they offer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *